The West Surrey Family History Society Fair

West Surrey Family History Society
Photo from the WSFHS facebook page

I hadn’t been to a Family History Fair for some time.  Despite not particularly having Surrey ancestors, the Fair being organised by West Surrey Family History Society at the end of October promised to be the biggest in the South , so I thought I’d go along.

It was a grand day out and very worthwhile.  The ‘Ask an Expert’ tables were a good idea, and I queued to speak to someone regarding dating an old photograph.  He was able to give me some ideas to pursue.

Two of the three family history societies that I belong to were there (Sussex and Oxfordshire), so it was good to have a chat with them and peruse their publications.  I was pleased to be able to buy a copy of the CD of the first 40 years of Sussex Family Historian, the journal of the Sussex Family History Group.  Dipping into that should keep me out of mischief for a while!

On the Oxfordshire stall I found a booklet ‘Abandoned, Apprenticed and Boarded Out’, containing details of Neighbour ancestors from Lewknor.

I was most interested to chat with the very enthusiastic people on the ‘Surrey in the Great War’ stand and will definitely be following its progress and sending them the information on the two Woking brothers (see the last two posts).

I spoke to the people at the Guild of One Name Studies and at the British Association for Local History, before heading to the talk entitled ‘Breaking down brick walls’.

This talk turned out to be less about breaking down brick walls than about getting the most out of The Genealogist program, but it was useful nonetheless.  Mark Bayley definitely knows his stuff and was very clear in his delivery and I made a note of a number of things to follow up.

I would quite like to have known about the car parking charges beforehand and I do think that WSFHS missed a trick in not being more proactive about promoting membership of their society to the many visitors to the fair, but I came away with a number of purchases as well as new lines of enquiry. A grand day out – thank you WSFHS!

Leave a Reply

